Cover Image for Cottage Days Collection

COTTAGE DAYS - Solo Piano Collection

Levels 1-5

The Royal Conservatory of Music Contemporary Showcase Syllabus NFMC 2024-2028 Bulletin

Regular price $17.99 CAD Sale

Pages: 40

MHD-P005, ISBN: 978-0-9809485-4-7

COTTAGE DAYS is a collection of ten expressive summer soundscapes designed for the elementary and early intermediate pianist and a bonus “dog” duet for Level 3-4. Many of the pieces focus on 5ths, crossovers and introductory pedal effects, making them fairly easy to learn and memorize while still sounding sophisticated and contemporary.

The day at the cottage begins with Misty Morning, followed by crashing black keys in Summer Lightning. Next up is Rowboat at the Dock, where the player gets to simulate the knocking of a boat against a dock followed by the latin-styled Cicadas. Cattails and Dragonflies continue with their heated and colorful summer atmosphere. Water Lilies, with RH melody amidst LH crossovers, and Sandcastles, with long building lines and a glissando! are the two most popular pieces in the set. Fire Circle, with 16th note flames and August Moon, scored with three staves, close the day and the season. Great choices for a summer themed recital! M.H. Duncan

Cover Art: Judith Quintin